11.05. Hatewatching. The shows we love to hate.


The clever folks at Slate Culture Gab-Fest were discussing Hate-watching this week, following on from an article by Emily Nussbaum in the New Yorker about Hate-watching the new show “SMASH”.
She gets pretty cranky about the show, but realises she is enjoying it.
“I realize my vehemence is slightly suspect. I mean, why would I go out of my way to watch a show that makes me so mad? On some level, I’m obviously enjoying it.”

Made me think about some of the shows I watch.
I don’t really watch shows that make me angry. That only happens when I accidentally turn on Andrew Bolt on a Sunday morning.
But it got me thinking about alot of the shows on TV. Especially reality shows. Especially on Pay TV. And why we watch them. Not all the emotions they evoke are positive…
I’ve illustrated my personal emotional fire warning scale in the diagram above.

What shows are you on your current fire danger scale??
What categories do you like? Any you would like to add?

4 thoughts on “11.05. Hatewatching. The shows we love to hate.

  1. Pingback: Blogging May Be Sending Me Insane | Shambolic Living

Leave a Reply

