10.03. It’s My Party, I’ll eat duck if I want to.

I don’t get excited by my birthday.
Except big ones.
But this year, my family have been so delightful, it was one of the loveliest birthdays ever.
And the great news is, I’m giving you the present, below is the recipe for the delicious duck dish hubby made for me and the family.
Other highlight was my new French coffee pot. Price tag is still on it, since I was there when it was discovered. In fact, I may have hinted that it would make a sensational birthday present. And I was right!

Cassis Duck with celeriac mash
(Ingredients for 10 people)
6 duck breasts
1 shallot
750ml red wine
200ml Creme de Cassis
handful dried blackcurrants
Butter (50g + 150g)
3 celeriacs
1 lemon
Salt & pepper

Peel the celeriac and chop and cook in boiling water with the juice of the lemon. Puree the cooked celeriac in a food processor, add 150g butter and season.

Bring the wine to the boil, add the shallots, allow to reduce by half, add the creme de cassis and the blackcurrants and reduce again. The sauce should be syrupy. Whisk in the remaining 50g butter to make a sauce.

Score the fatty side of the breasts in a criss-cross pattern, pan fry them, skin side down for 10 minutes on a gentle heat and then turn breasts over and cook for a further 5 minutes.
Slice the breasts into 6 pieces, dress with the blackcurrant sauce and puree.
Add blanched beans or a nice green for some crunch.
Delicious!
This recipe courtesy of one of our absolute favourites, Stephane Reynaud in his book Ripailles, Traditional French Cuisine.

Leave a Reply

