21.04. Cooking for Friends

I love having friends over for dinner, making food for people you love and enjoying it together is wonderful. I started the day at the Queen Vic market in the morning and grabbed super fresh ingredients for everything. For my dessert I needed lots of fresh berries. Just beautiful.

Our friends have kids, so I wanted a dessert that adults and kids love and I decided to make Smashed Pav- a dessert I make quite often that delivers every time. I serve up individual portions and put the big bowl on the table- people are always grabbing for seconds.
The other thing I love about Smashed Pav is the prep time. You spend 10 minutes slicing strawberries and then 5 minutes to serve it up. So you don’t have to spend precious time in the kitchen that you could be spending with the people you love.

Give it a go!
Smashed Pav (for 6)
1 small meringue base per person
2 packs muscarpone
1 pack creme fraiche
Fresh fruit (I used 3 punnets of strawberries, and a punnet each of blueberries and raspberries + some passionfruit, but it would be just as good with a tropical mix of mango, banana and passionfruit, or a winter version with some stewed rhubarb)

Optional- dark chocolate to grate over the top or sprinkle through in chunks

Throw it all together and smash it!

Leave a Reply

